First time to Portland… First blog post? Coincidence? I think not.

Welcome to my world of running, exploring, all things fitness, travel, and fun things that go on in my life that I’m willing to share with you (a stranger, perhaps?) I don’t know how I am going to find the time to keep this up, but I always say if it’s important to you, you’ll make time for it. So here goes – time to see how important writing and sharing with you is to me.

This past weekend I traveled to Portland, Oregon with a group of runners I’m associated with here in the Bay Area, Concrete Runners. A group of about 20 of us embarked to the Pacific Northwest for the Bowerman 5k race. It was a small, mostly local race, put on the Bowerman Track Club which has 10 members heading to Rio this fall to represent three countries in the Olympics! These people are seriously fast! The course was fast and flat and is the only race that runs right through Nike World Head Quarters! I am a huge Nike fan (more on that in a later post) so this was really neat for me. I haven’t ran a real 5k race for time in a long time (if ever?), so I had a goal in mind based off my current training and pace, but I really didn’t know what this would be like for me. Racing a 5k is so different than running long distances like I am used to doing. And it was hard. Really hard. While I didn’t meet my goal of finishing under 22 minutes, I have a time to beat now: 22:38.

Besides running we did a lot of eating (I love eating just as much as I love running), some hiking, and explored a little of Portland. Instead of me blabbing about everything we ate and saw, I’ll leave you with these photos:

we couldnt visit Portland withhout eating donuts
Friday morning breakfast
Went on a little solo-5 mile run of downtown Portland
best latte of the trip
hiking Multnomah Falls
Brunch at Tasty n Sons. Best meal by far!
exploring the city on foot
International Rose Tesr Garden! This was such a treat!
Concrete Runners before the race!
action shot of me during the race

 

-me

Leave a Reply

