With just a little over a week left of 2016, I wanted to take a moment to look back and recap some of my running highlights of the year. This was a hard list to make because 2016 was one of my most epic years of running to date. I set PRs in the Marathon, ยฝ Marathon, 12k, 5k, and 1 mile distances. I pushed myself to new limits that I never thought was possible… I ran over 1,000 miles this year for the first time ever, ran in 8 different states in addition to Mexico, and participated in some really cool fitness events including Wanderlust 108 and Dare to Bare. I hit so many running milestones and made so many amazing people along the way. There are seriously so many reasons to look back on 2016 and feel nothing but pride and accomplishment.

My top 3 running events of 2016

  • Chicago Marathon: Not only did a receive a free Nike sponsored bib 6 weeks before the race, I crushed my previous PR set in Chicago in 2014 by 30 minutes, got to hang out with my family, and I got to see my best friend from college. A whole bunch of my run crew friends from Concrete and NRC SF were also running the race, so it was so nice to see them all accomplish something so epic along side of eachother. Nike treated me to a super special shopping experience, photo shoots, and interviewed me for an athlete feature on their app. The Nike Run Club program has literally changed my life and my commitment to running and I was over the moon to receive such an amazing treat from them. My Nike+ story can be found on the app here:ย .
  • New York Marathon: The New York City Marathon was my original and only marathon of 2016 before my surprise entry to Chicago. I was literally just about in tears (happy tears!) on the bus to work when I saw the money for my registration was withdrawn from my bank account which meant my entry to the lottery was chosen. This is one race that is just about on every runners bucket list and it was my second time trying to get in through the lottery. The race and the crowds were unlike anything I have ever experienced and my entire week in NYC was amazing from NRC events and meeting runners from all over the world and some I know through social media to participating in the Take the Bridge raceย Friday before the marathon.ย I also have family on the east coast and my parents and my brother all came to NYC for this race. It was a whole family affair which was so special and seeing them on the course is always a highlight.
  • Hood to Coast: The 200 mile Hood to Coast relay was my first relay race and one of the coolest team events Iโ€™ve been a part of. I couldnโ€™t have asked for a better group of people to complete this journey with and another reason I have Nike and Concrete Runners to thank. Becoming a part of a running group has opened doors to some of the coolest opportunities and introduced me to some amazing and inspiring people.

So many accomplishments and so many really amazing running events happened in 2016. 2016 was my first full year as part of the NRC program and on the Concrete Runners crew, and after all that I accomplished in 2016, I canโ€™t wait to see what the future holds. Check back in a few days to see what I have planned for 2017.

Leave a Reply

