January has been a weird month. It was just kind of an off month for me. For starters, I started a new job January 3rd and it has been kind of crazy. It’s been over four years since I’ve had a new job and  I had forgotten how hard and exhausting it is to come in to a new company with new processes, new people, new ideas, and all sorts of new things to learn. Marathon training for the Mt. Charleston Marathon in April also started around the same time… kind of. My second week on the job, I had 3 days of training and orientations at the firm’s marketing retreat in NYC and that was so exhausting for me, unfortunately I didn’t get as much running done as I wanted to there (I really didn’t even see NYC as much as I wanted to either!) I also tweaked my calf the last run of 2016, so that needed some rest before I was back to feeling 100%. Safe to say that January and my marathon training just didn’t start off with a bang like one would expect.

Now that January is almost over, I have finally started to feel like I am getting into the swing of things at my new job and have gotten back into training consistently. As I have mentioned before, my goal for this race is a Boston Qualification time, ideally 3:30:00, so there is a lot on the line for me personally for this race. So far, I feel strong and my speed workouts and long runs have been going well. It’s been freezing here in San Francisco and SO. MUCH. RAIN!  So the motivation to get out the door and put in miles has been pretty low.

A few things that have helped me get back on track:

  • Writing down my training schedule in my new amazing passion planner!
  • Getting my speed work done in one of my favorite classes at equinox, Precision Running.
  • Getting a group of friends together for runs or run photo shoots (thanks to the lovely Melissa Holtz for getting some awesome shots of the Concrete Runners crew! Check her out on Facebook and Instagram)
  • I also started the book “How Bad Do You Want It” by Matt Fitzgerald, which has been super motivating.

What do tips and tricks do you do when your motivation is lacking? I’d love to hear from you!

-J

Photo by Melissa Holtz

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

